Missed the Tour de France prologue, just like 1991

In my recent posts about Stephen Roche one thing I glossed over was the 1991 Tour de France. Probably something he would want to forget also. In his book it appears that an administrative cock up saw him arrive so late for the start of the Prologue in 1991 that he missed the time cut and was disqualified. It wasn’t the first time, defending “champion” and later discredited doper Pedro Delgado turned up at the ramp over 2 1/2 minutes late for the 1989 Tour (the one that everyone remembers for Lemond beating Fignon by 8 seconds on the Champs Elysee) and finishing the day as one of the slowest riders.

Well, in a “blog-imitates-life” kind of way, I’ve done the same thing. Carefully selected my Fantasy Tour de France team, only to fail to hit the flippin’ “save team” button. Top class team and no results for the Prologue or Day 1! Grrrr! I’m now at the bottom of my mini-league trailing the first man by about 260 points! OK, so I didn’t have Cancellara in my squad, but I did have Sagen who as Stage 1 winner would have brought home a few useful points.

What a great team - even better if I hadn't waited until day 2 to submit it!

What a great team – even better if I hadn’t waited until day 2 to submit it!

Leave a Reply

